News Featured Image

Categories announced for 2022 Agri Guild Awards

The Guild of Agricultural Journalists of Ireland has announced the details of the 2022 Agri Guild Awards, sponsored by FBD Insurance, which will take place at the Killashee Hotel in Kildare on Friday 9 December. 

The awards, which are held every two years, aim to encourage excellence in the reporting of farming, food and rural life on the island of Ireland. 

This year’s awards feature nine categories. The ‘Rising ‘Star’ award returns to recognise an outstanding individual under the age of 35, and we have a new category in the form of best climate change reporting. 

The Guild of Agricultural Journalism Awards are open to journalists in national and local media and also to consultants in the communications sector. Each entry will be assessed and scored by an independent judging panel* from across the industry. The judging panel will be chaired by Tom McGuire, former head of RTÉ Radio One. 

Speaking about this year’s awards, Amy Forde, Chair of the southern section of the Guild of Agricultural Journalists said, “We are delighted to be able to return to an in-person awards this year, with the support of FBD Insurance. For the first time, we will have a Climate Change Reporting Award which is aimed at reflecting informative stories relating to the climate change challenge.” 

Award Categories
The nine categories for the 2022 Agri Guild awards are:   

1. Best News Article 

Entries can include written news articles published in print or online 

2. Best Feature Article 

Entries can include written feature articles published in print or online 

3. Best Visual Report 

Entries can include visual reports created for TV or online broadcast 

4. Best Audio Report 

Entries can include audio reports created for radio, podcast or online broadcast 

5. Best Technical Article 

Entries can include technical articles written for print or online

6. Best Targeted Campaign 

Entries can include targeted PR and marketing campaigns 

7. Best Climate Change Reporting 

Entries to include written, audio or visual media reports capturing accessible and informative content relating to the climate change challenge. Maximum of two entries per journalist. 

8. Best Photograph

Entries can include photographs captured to illustrate a story in print or online

9. Rising Star Award 

Entries to nominate an individual under the age of 35 who should be considered a rising star within the industry. Individuals can nominate themselves or be nominated by a third party. 

Prizes and Entry Details 

There are attractive cash prizes for the winners in all categories and the overall award, “The Bull” Bronze Trophy, plus cash prize, is presented to the category winner deemed to be of exceptional merit by the adjudicating panel. 

Each entry must have been published between 1 September 2020 – 31 August 2022 and there is a limit of two entries, per person, per category. 

For more details, or to submit an entry, please visit

The closing date for entries is Friday, 11th November 2022. 

Notes to Editor 

*Judging Panel 

Tom McGuire, former head of RTÉ Radio One (Chair) 

Richard Wright, former Agricultural Correspondent, BBC Northern Ireland 

Margaret Berry,  head of sustainability, Kepak Group

Anne-Marie Butler, head of education at Teagasc 

Tommy Boland, Professor at UCD School of Agriculture and Food Science 

Become a member
Working in agricultural media? Sign up to become a member of the AgriGuild today where you will have access to a network of peers and opportunities for recruitment, education and awards.